Hooked on a feeling…

It’s something my mom always taught me that has been a huge part of my life. Prepare for the worst, but hope for the best. Sometimes I feel like I have blinders on and can only see the negative side. I’ve been so focused on when I’m going to crash and how hard that I haven’t enjoyed myself for a minute even though I’ve been feeling better the last couple days. Sure, I might crash, probably will even. But I’ve dealt with it before. I’ll minimize the damage as much as I can. But maybe, just maybe, taking the edge off the first day slowed things down. Maybe the Abilify is starting to work. Maybe the new sleep schedule and increased exercise are helping. One can hope and I am now. With that out of the way I can enjoy the fact that I have to return a shirt that’s too big for the first time in my adult life, the fact that the scale finally went down a tiny bit more, and the fact I really do have to find smaller pants in my closet if I want to avoid a “wardrobe malfunction” of epic proportions. Oh yeah, and I got sexy new shoes. Something I haven’t worn in many years. It’s made me take the time to pick out a nice outfit, do my hair and wear makeup all week. It feels good, it makes me feel good, and I’m going to soak that up while I can. Yes, I’m prepared for the crash that MAY follow. But maybe it won’t.

Leave a Reply

