Where to begin

I think about writing here often but I don’t know where to start. I don’t want to log on just to post something tiny and trivial. If I did that, I would probably post four times a day. At least four. And then, when I think of something, like where I am with weight loss, my thoughts are such a jumble. I know no one else will be reading this but I would like it to at least be coherent.

Menu planning is wearing me out. It’s so tough to find ideas that are healthy that are also simple enough for my husband to help with and that he’s willing to eat. Especially since he’s not a meat and potatoes kind of guy. He’s simply a meat with meat guy. His idea of helping me meal plan is to decide which cut of meat to cook and how to cook it. He gets tired of vegetables quickly and thinks all whole grains taste like dirt. And yet, if we just agree to cook separately for ourselves, I won’t put any effort in and will burn out and return to microwave meals.

Right now I’m compromising the best I can. Sometimes I just eat the white pasta or dough but I make sure to watch the portion and load up on lean protein and veggies while leaving the majority of it for him to finish. And yet, I know white pasta in particular is one of my worst enemies. I had it for dinner last night and two hours later I was hungry again. I’m also hungrier today even though I ate a solid breakfast. At least with rice he doesn’t seem to notice if I mix half brown rice and half white rice and it helps some.

I know there’s a huge variety of vegetables out there but I guess I just don’t know what to do with them. It seems I keep making minor variations to the same onions, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes and bell peppers. I’m really not much of a fan of broccoli or cauliflower unless they’re smothered in cheese. Or carrots unless they’re sauteed in butter and dill. I get tired of eating meat about every other week and start making vegetarian dishes and telling my husband he can add a piece of meat to his own if he really needs it. And maybe I should look for more of those options and try to work in more beans and lentils for protein although I don’t really know what to do with them either. I love eggs but they just aren’t all that convenient. My husband hates fish and shellfish is just too expensive for more than an occasional treat.

Maybe the next time I reach a goal I should be rewarding myself with cooking classes! Now, to find a healthy one that’s somewhat local…..

Leave a Reply

